The Birth of Methodism
Event During July 2017
#
Wednesday, 26 July at 7:30 PM
Starfire Singers (Methodist Youth Choir from California) at Westbury-on-Trym Methodist Church, Bristol. All donations to the New Room Development Fund.

Friday, 28 July at 1:00 PM
Holy Communion Service led by Revd Hilary Cooke

Sunday, 30 July at 4:00 PM
The New Room is CLOSED today

Event During August 2017
#
Friday, 04 August at 1:00 PM
Holy Communion Service led by Revd David Weeks

Friday, 11 August at 1:00 PM
Holy Communion Service led by Revd Mandy Briggs

Friday, 18 August at 1:00 PM
Holy Communion Service led by Revd Hilary Cooke

Friday, 25 August at 1:00 PM
Holy Communion Service led by Revd Josette Crane

Event During September 2017
#
Friday, 01 September at 1:00 PM
Holy Communion Service led by Revd Mandy Briggs

Friday, 08 September at 1:00 PM
Holy Communion Service led by Revd David Bolton

Friday, 15 September at 1:00 PM
Holy Communion Service led by Revd David Weeks

Friday, 22 September at 1:00 PM
Holy Communion Service led by Revd Phil Hewett

Friday, 29 September at 1:00 PM
Holy Communion Service led by Revd Dilwyn Edwards

View all Events

New Room Bristol


John Wesley was a priest in the Church of England. He came to Bristol in 1739 and started preaching to the poor in the open air. Wesley gathered those who responded into religious societies which met in people’s homes. Within weeks their numbers had increased so much that a new meeting place was needed.
 
He bought a small patch of land and built what he called ’our new room in the Horsefair’. It was used as a dispensary and schoolroom for the poor as well as for meetings and worship. It is still known today by Methodists as ’the New Room’. In 1748 it was extended and rebuilt to the size you can see today.
 
John’s brother,Charles, was also a Church of England priest. Charles is considered by many to be the world’s greatest ever hymn writer. Their shared mission was to take their Christian faith to the unchurched and especially to the poor who were often neglected by the Established Church.


Click here for pagetop


Designed & Hosted by Designed and hosted by the Whats on Group: www.whatsongroup.co.uk